Almost one quarter of all alcohol and drug rehabilitation facilities in the U.S. are non 12 step programs. These are the findings of a recent survey by the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA).

non 12 step programsPeople who prefer a non 12 step program or rehab have a great diversity from which to choose. Here are alphabetical lists of random samples of non 12 step rehabs, free or low-cost non 12 step programs, and non 12 step outpatient programs.

1. Non 12 Step Programs (Rehabs)

  • Accelerated Recovery Centers. Marietta, GA)
  • Alta Mira Recovery Programs (San Francisco, CA).
  • Alexander Group (see The Alexandra Group).
  • A Positive Alternative (Seattle, WA).
  • Ascend Recovery (Highland, UT).
  • Assisted Recovery Centers of America.
  • Assisted Recovery Centers of Georgia.
  • ATI (Alternative Treatment International) Wellness (Clearwater, FL).
  • Aton Center (San Diego County, CA). https://www.atoncenter.com/.
  • Bayside Marin (Marin County, CA). http://baysidemarin.crchealth.com/.
  • Beachway Therapy Center (Delray Beach, FL). http://www.rehabilitation-center.org/.
  • Canyon (see The Canyon).
  • Challenges Addiction Recovery Center (Fort Lauderdale, FL). http://www.challenges-program.com/.
  • Chapters Capistrano (SanClemente, CA). http://www.chapterscapistrano.com/.
  • Clarity Way (located in south central PA). http://www.clarityway.com/non-12-step-program.html/.
  • Crosby Center (San Diego, CA). http://www.aaeretreat.com/Non-12-Step-Rehab.html/.
  • DARA Thailand (Koh Chang, Thailand). http://alcoholrehab.com/why-alcohol-rehab-thailand/choosing-a-rehab/.
  • Desert Canyon Treatment Center (Sedona, AZ). http://www.desert-canyon.com/.
  • Desert Rehab Center (located in southern CA). http://desertrehabcenter.com/.
  • Emerald Coast Rehab (Destin, FL). http://www.emeraldcoastrehab.com/addiction-treatment/.
  • Exclusive Hawaii (see The Exclusive Hawaii).
  • Gulf Breeze Recovery (Pensacola Beach, FL). http://www.gulfbreezerecovery.com/.
  • Gulf Coast Addiction Treatment (Destin, FL). http://www.gulfcoastdrugrehab.com/addiction-treatment/non-12-step/.
  • Harbor Hall (Petrosky, MI). http://www.harborhall.com/.
  • Hawaii Natural Drug Rehabilitation Center (near Hilo, HI). http://www.rawdetox.org/.
  • Holistic Sanctuary (see The Holistic Sanctuary).
  • Inspire Malibu (located in southern CA). http://www.inspiremalibu.com/.
  • Journey Healing Centers (located in the Salt Lake City/Sandy area). http://www.journeyhealingcenters.com/.
  • Journey Malibu (Malibu, CA). http://journeymalibu.com/non-12-step-recovery/.
  • KTC Health Farm (Nairobi, Kenya). https://directory.intherooms.com/Treatment-Center/KTC-HEALTH-FARM/12134/.
  • Lomonaco Palms (Laguna Beach, CA). https://directory.intherooms.com/Treatment-Center/Lomonaco-Palms/12475/.
  • Malibu Horizon (Malibu, CA). http://www.non12step-rehab.com/.
  • Malibu Rehab Center (Malibu, CA). http://www.maliburehabcenter.com/about-us/overview/.
  • Miramar (Miramar, FL). http://www.miramarlagunabeach.com/non-12-step-recovery-treatment-programs/.
  • Moonview Sanctuary (Santa Monica, CA). http://moonviewsanctuary.com/addiction-treatment/12-step-alcohol-treatment.html/.
  • Morningside Recovery (Newport Beach, CA). http://www.morningsiderecovery.com/?cpao=295/.
  • New Beginnings. http://www.newbeginningsdrugrehab.org/non-12-step-drug-rehab/.
  • Mountain View Behavioral Health Centers (Gadsden, AL). http://www.mtnviewhospital.com/inpatient-psychiatric-centers/.
  • New Method Wellness (San Juan Capistrano and Capo Beach, CA). http://www.newmethodwellness.com/optional-spiritual-program/.
  • Orchard Recovery and Treatment Center (located near Vancouver, BC). http://www.orchardrecovery.com/.
  • Oregon Drug Rehab. http://www.oregon-drugrehab.org/non12step-biophysical-rehab.html/.
  • Palm Partners Recovery Center (Delray Beach, FL). http://blog.palmpartners.com/non-12-step-programs/.
  • Passages Malibu (Malibu, CA). http://www.passagesmalibu.com/about-passages-malibu/jcaho-accreditation/.
  • Passages Ventura (Ventura, CA). http://www.passagesmalibu.com/about-passages-malibu/jcaho-accreditation/.
  • Practical Recovery (San Diego, CA). http://www.practicalrecovery.com/services/why-practical-recovery/.
  • Promises Treatment Centers (Malibu and West Los Angeles, CA and Austin, TX). http://www.promises.com/.
  • Prominence Treatment (Malibu, CA). http://www.prominencetreatment.com/non-12-step-rehab/.
  • Ranch Creek Recovery (located near San Diego, CA). http://ranchcreekrecovery.com/ranchcreekrecovery.php/.
  • Sanctuary at Sedona (see The Sanctuary at Sedona).
  • SAT (Substance Abstinence Treatment) Health Center (Los Angeles, CA). http://www.addictionsite.com/sat_program.htm/.
  • Schick Shadel (Seattle, WA and Denton, TX). http://schickshadel.com/addiction-treatment-programs/drug-and-alcohol-addiction-treatment/.
  • Seasons in Malibu (Malibu, CA). http://seasonsmalibu.com/.
  • Solutions Recovery Center (Boca Raton, FL). http://www.solutionsrehab.com/non-12-step-rehab/.
  • St. Gregory Retreats Center (Des Moines, IA). http://www.stgregoryctr.com/.
  • Sunset Malibu (Malibu, CA). http://www.drugrehabsunsetmalibu.com/.
  • Suncoast Rehabilitation Center (Spring Hill, FL). http://www.suncoastrehabcenter.com/.
  • Sundance Center (see The Sundance Center).
  • Sunshine Coast (located near Vancouver, BC). http://www.sunshinecoasthealthcentre.ca/.
  • Synergy Treatment Center (Capistrano Beach, San Luis Capistrano, Laguna Nigel, and Laguna Hills, CA). http://www.synergytreatment.com/.
  • The Alexander Group (Plano, TX). http://www.tagthealexandergroup.com/.
  • The Canyon (Malibu, CA). http://thecyn.com/drug-rehab/non-12-step/.
  • The Exclusive Hawaii. http://theexclusivehawaii.com/non-12-step-rehab.html/.
  • The Holistic Sanctuary (Baja,CA). http://addictionhealingsanctuary.com/non-12-step-drug-rehab-center/.
  • The Sanctuary at Sedona (Sedona, AZ). http://sanctuary.net/.
  • The Sundance Center (near Phoenix, AZ). http://www.thesundancecenter.com/.
  • The Treatment Center. http://www.thetreatmentcenter.com/.
  • Turning Point Centers (Sandy, UT). http://turningpointcenters.com/.
  • Whole Recovery Center (Samara, Costa Rica). https://directory.intherooms.com/Treatment-Center/Whole-Recovery-Center/12449/.

2. Non 12 Step Programs: Non Rehabs

Few people find that they need to enter a rehab facility; most achieve success using programs such as the following. These permit people to continue living at home and avoid the expense, travel, inconveniences, and anxieties of entering a rehab.

  • DrinkWise is a short, confidential educational program for people who want to eliminate the negative consequences of their drinking.
  • HAMS (Harm reduction, Abstinence and Moderation Support) is a free information and mutual help group for people to want those to change their drinking for the better. Members may choose whatever goals they want, whether they be, such as drinking more safely, reducing consumption, or abstaining.
  • The Life Process Program is based on a highly successful residential treatment center program. It’s now available to people for use in their own homes at an affordable cost.
  • LifeRing is a free network of support groups. It helps people live free from undesired substance use by empowering themselves.
  • Rational Recovery is a free program that helps people use the innate power and strength that they have to overcome their own unwanted drinking or drugging.
  • SMART Recovery (Self-Management And Recovery Training)  is a free program that teaches proactional techniques for eliminating dependence on alcohol.
  • Women for Sobriety helps women empower themselves to overcome their drinking problems in its free program.

3. Non 12 Step Programs (Outpatient)

This is a very small, illustrative sample. Check locally to find programs and therapists near you. Local college or university psychology or psychiatry departments are often a good source of information.

Another way to identify therapists is to consult directories of therapists. For example, the American Association for Behavioral Cognitive Therapies lists 103 therapists whose areas of specialty include alcohol abuse and addictive behaviors. Other directories include those of the Association for Humanistic Psychology, and of the Gestalt Therapy Network.

Selecting a rehab or other program is a major decision and should be done only after very careful consideration of all factors.

Listing does not imply endorsement. Neither this website nor your host receives benefit of any kind for listing any rehab, program, or service.

Disclaimer: This website is informational only. It makes no suggestions or recommendations about alcohol, drinking, rehabs, programs, or any other matter and none should be inferred. Neither this website nor your host receives any compensation, directly or indirectly, from listing or describing any program. Such listing or description does not imply endorsement. [+]

Filed Under: Alcoholism General Information